$40,000 research grants from National Archives

Media release: Friday, 9 March 2012

The National Archives of Australia is again calling for applications for its major research grants, worth a total of $40,000. Applications close on 4 May 2012.

'Each year we award three grants, one for established scholars, one for talented emerging scholars and one for archivists and other professionals,' said Director-General David Fricker. 'Last year the awards went to topics on revisiting the social and cultural history of the 1970s; post-war knowledge building; and Australia's Japanese war trials – which will provide a valuable legal reference.'

The winner of the $15,000 Frederick Watson Fellowship for established scholars in 2011 was Dr Michelle Arrow, a senior lecturer in history at Macquarie University and a recognised expert in post-war popular culture in Australia. She will be undertaking the first detailed analysis of the Royal Commission on Human Relationships set up by the Whitlam government in 1974.

Its subjects included the family, social, educational, legal and sexual aspects of male and female relationships with particular attention to the concept of 'responsible parenthood'. Dr Arrow sees it as a turning point in social awareness of issues such as domestic violence, child abuse and access to abortion and contraception.

The $15,000 Ian Maclean Award for archivists and other professionals in 2011 went to Dr Narrelle Morris from the Asia Pacific Centre for Military Law, Melbourne Law School. Over the last three years she has been working on a project, supported by the Australian War Memorial and the Department of Defence, to examine and analyse the 300 Australian war crimes trials of the Japanese after World War II. Her findings will be included in a comprehensive law reports series.

The Ian Maclean Award enables Dr Morris to produce for publication a comprehensive guide to key Commonwealth government records on these war crimes investigations and trials for the National Archives. Today there is increasing Australian and international interest in the Australian war crimes trials. The guide will help researchers find relevant records to enable them to investigate unexplored aspects.

The Margaret George Award for talented emerging scholars went to historian Hannah Forsyth, who has a special interest in the history of university research and teaching. Her project investigates new Federal government research funding initiatives as part of post-war reconstruction. It considers the apparent shift that the new funding signified, away from bureaucratic expertise towards research and discovery.

Details on how to apply for the 2012 awards can be found on the National Archives website naa.gov.au/about-us/grants/apply.

Contact information

  • Elizabeth Masters (Media Officer)
    t (02) 6212 3957 m 0427 853 664 e elizabeth.masters@naa.gov.au
  • Melanie Harwood (Assistant Director, Communications)
    t (02) 6212 3755 m 0422 535 213 e melanie.harwood@naa.gov.au
Copyright National Archives of Australia 2019