Digital excellence awards for top agencies

Media release: Tuesday, 1 November 2016

Commonwealth agencies with innovative digital projects are invited to nominate them for the National Archives of Australia 2017 Awards for Digital Excellence.

The awards celebrate the positive changes and progress to making digital information more robust, fit-for-purpose and available.

Across Commonwealth agencies, skilled information management professionals are bringing people, technology and processes together to ensure that digital information assets are ably managed.

'Complementing the recently announced chief information governance officer role, this year an additional award category will recognise an outstanding individual within the Australian Public Service who has championed information management reform,' said David Fricker, Director-General of the National Archives.

Award winners will be selected from case studies that demonstrate significant advancement towards meeting Digital Continuity 2020 policy targets. Digital Continuity is an approach to creating and managing information that can be trusted and used for as long as needed despite technological change.

Last year's winning entries included a process for gaining significant business benefits through digital transition and the development of a smartphone app for 6,500 Australians with bleeding disorders such as haemophilia. 

The awards program is open until 28 February 2017.

Contact information

  • Elizabeth Masters (Media Officer)
    t (02) 6212 3957 m 0417 247 157 e

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram: naagovau

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2019