2018 National Archives Awards for Digital Excellence

Awards for Digital Excellence

The 2018 National Archives Awards for Digital Excellence recognise and promote excellence and innovation in the management, use and reuse of digital information by Australian Government agencies. 

Applications are now invited for the Awards. Winners will be announced at the launch of Information Awareness Month, 1 May 2018.


The Awards are open to all Australian Commonwealth agencies.

Award Categories

The Awards are offered in four categories:

  1. agencies with up to 200 staff
  2. agencies with between 200 and 1,000 staff
  3. agencies of over 1,000 staff
  4. outstanding individual within the Australian Public Service who has championed information management reform.


The winners will be chosen from case studies that describe significant progress towards Digital Continuity 2020.

A case study should address some or all of the following:

  • implementation of a program of professional development of information management across the organisation
  • transformation to digital services for better user / client experience
  • improved agency accountability through information governance
  • effective communications to promote the value of information assets
  • innovative use of technology or other solutions to enhance information management
  • improvement in digital information management with limited resources
  • evidence of building a culture that values digital information.


Submit your application to information.management@naa.gov.au by cob 28 Feb 2018.

Applications are in the form of a case study (1,000 word limit), using the application form (docx, 904kb) provided and are to contain a:

  • suitable title
  • short summary
  • case study that describes
    • the cause for transformation or innovation
    • the journey to success, including any lessons learned
    • the outcomes and benefits.

Case studies should link the agency's or individual’s achievements to information management best practice.

Contact us

For further information about the awards, including eligibility and nominations, please contact information.management@naa.gov.au

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2018